L’oreal Sublime Bronze Tanning Lotion

So summer is getting closer and that urge I get to be not so pasty white and have more of a summery glow is back. This year I promised myself to really try to avoid laying out in the sun. It is so dangerous and just plain bad for your skin. As much as I love laying out and feeling the warm summer beating down on my soon to be leathery skin I figure it truly is just too large of a risk for me to take anymore. Especially if there are safe options that can give me the same effect as tanning.

So I have been completely and utterly terrified of self tanners for a long time now. The last time I used one I was probably around 18 years old so it has been almost 10 years now. I had good reason to be a little iffy on these products though. You see I tried some random brand of self tanning lotion in dark but it should have just been called pumpkin toned. Not only did I not get the lotion of my hands before they had already turned Oompa loompa orange but when I stepped into the sun I realized my arms and legs matched and were completely full of streaks. My friends have never let me forget this incident and I swore self tanners off ever since. I am sure if you have ever used these tanners you have experienced this at least once.

So finally this year out of pure fear of some of the dangers to tanning I decided I am going to find a good self tanner that does the job well. After all it has been nearly ten years and self tanners should be a little better now right? So I did what I do most the time when I am nervous about trying something new. I researched the heck out of it. I wanted to stick to something more affordable but that did the job and basically did not make me resemble someone who would work and sing in a chocolate factory. I found that many people rave about the Banana Boat self tanner so I went out to find this. I went to Walgreens and could not find it. I did not feel like going to another store being the energetic person I am lol so I decided to try the Sublime Bronze. It was a bit more pricey than the Banana boat but being streak free and quick dry I thought it sounded promising.

So first things first I decided the orange palms thing was just not going to happen this time so I came up with a plan. Gloves did sound promising but not fool-proof as your fingers can still create streaking on your body. I decided to use a sponge. I applied the lotion to my body then buffed the lotion into my skin. I found as I was doing this I was getting a very good application. The lotion absolutely dries quickly as it claims. I never for a moment felt as if my skin needed time to dry it just felt like the perfect drying time. One thing I did not like about this lotion was you could not really tell where I was applying it. It rubs in quickly and is not very dark-colored. You do however get a lot of shimmer out of this so if you don’t like your skin sparkly then you should probably skip this one. The application was quick and painless and I have to say was not the worst smell for a self tanner. The lotion says it will develop in about an hour but this was really not the case. After about an hour I figured I had a nice bronze glow and figured that was it. However, the next morning when I woke up I looked down to see much more dramatic results. It looked pretty natural and there was not any streaking. I did this a couple more times since and have noticed it is beginning to feel more orangey than the proper brown I would like. I do not know if I will continue to use this product or just stop and try the Banana Boat. I will link my You Tube video below and ask you to let me know as I did in the video if I am starting to look orange. Please be honest. It will not hurt my feelings. Also if you could comment here or below the video on any self tanners you recommend to achieve a nice brown tan on an olive toned person it would be so greatly appreciated.

This lotion was excellent for being streak free and quick drying but it just does not feel like the color I am going for. I would probably not repurchase this one.

Check out my You Tube video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14bFo0qwmVk

Leave a comment